Turkey and Ham Potato Cakes

Well, Christmas day has come and gone.  This year I was cooking for 8 people – us and both sets of grandparents.  Afraid I wouldn’t have enough food for everyone I ended up cooking far too many vegetables.  Yesterday morning I was faced with a rather large bowl of mashed potatoes, some Christmas ham and a little turkey (a 9lb turkey shared between 8 people doesn’t leave you with much leftovers!) so when the kids got up they had only one thing on their minds for breakfast – Potato Cakes (or spud cakes as they are known as in our house) so I decided to be a little different and incorporate the turkey and ham into the potato mixture. Here’s how I got on…

Quantities are approximate as I just used what I had but should be ok 🙂

1lb cold mashed potatoes

50g Flour

Few slices of turkey and ham

  • In a food processor, finely chop your turkey and ham. Then add your mashed potato and flour and mix until it is all combined.
  • Shape small amounts of the mash into small potato cakes
  • Heat a little oil on a frying pan then fry til golden brown.
  • Serve hot and enjoy!
This entry was posted in Leftovers, Potatoes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Turkey and Ham Potato Cakes

  1. Ooh lovely! Gonna give these a go later. Thanks a mill!!

Leave a comment